Tag Archives: vernon parish

Fullerton Lake Recreation Complex | Project Vernon Parish

National Register Properties | Outdoor Recreation | Places of Interest |Trails & Byways

Fullerton Lake Recreation Complex is the site of the former Fullerton Sawmill and Town.  Established in the early 1900’s, Fullerton was the largest pine sawmill west of the Mississippi River and was home to approximately 5,000 people.

Today, the complex is operated by the US Forest Service and is part of the Vernon Unit of the Calcasieu Ranger District.  One of the most popular, recreation areas in the Vernon Unit, the site boasts on-site camping, recreation trails, full service rest-room facilities, a large pavilion, and, of course, lots of fishing.

Fullerton Lake Recreation Complex is also home to the annual Fullerton Sawmill Day festival.  Held annually, the festival, includes historic displays, music, food, and lots of fun.

Additional Information:

More information on Fullerton Recreation Complex is available from the US Forest Service

More information on the Myths & Legends Scenic Byway is available from the Vernon Parish Tourism Commission website

Louisiana Byways Website

Kisatchie National Forest, Calcasieu Ranger District, Vernon Unit

Location Map:

Talbert-Pierson Cemetery

Project Vernon Parish

National Register Properties | Places of Interest | Cemeteries | Trails & Byways

Talbert-Pierson Cemetery located in the Cravens Community is a historic cemetery with grave houses (also know as grave shelters) as is part of the Myths & Legends Byway in Vernon Parish. The cemetery was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003.

The historic marker at the cemetery reads:



Established by members of the Talbert and Pierson families, pioneers who first settled in the area in the 1860’s. Thirteen graves are covered with unique grave houses. The origins of grave houses are uncertain – some tracing the beginnings to European or Native American roots. Other sources simply attribute the custom to a form of protecting the graves before cemeteries were commonly fenced. Grave houses were a part of the Upland South tradition; the custom also included decorating the graves with shells. Tradition demanded that the grave house was to be built before sunset on the day of burial. Talbert-Pierson Cemetery was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003. Adjacent tot he cemetery is Pine Grove Methodist Church established on April 10, 1887 as part of the Sugartown circuit. The first church was located approximately one mile from the present church, which was built in 1921.
– Erected by the Vernon Parish Tourism Commission and the Vernon Parish Police Jury, 2003.

Additional Information:

Talbert-Pierson Cemetery on Find A Grave

More information on the Myths & Legends Scenic Byway is available from the Vernon Parish Tourism Commission website

Louisiana Byways website

Talbert/Pierson Grave Shelters 1889-1949 on Cemeteries of Texas

Location Map:

Book Nooks – Launch Event

Project Vernon Parish | Points of Interest

On October 14, 2016 the Vernon Parish Book Nook project was launched.  Book Nooks are Vernon Parish’s version of Little Free Libraries and there are 20 of them scattered throughout Vernon Parish with 10 of the them located within the Main Street District in Downtown Leesville. Each Book Nook was decorated by local artists:

Kenneth Frischkorn Cheryl Frischkorn Anat Ronen Tony McDonald Leila Pollard Paula Sche-Baldwin Isabelle Massart-Bursh Sam Bursh Jill Leonard JaNae Manley Ne’andrea Hawkins Stephen Jeane Kim Wallace Jerry Keeton Brittany Arnold Kenny Pollard Sandee Burger Jerry Cook Amanda Craft Jamie Armbruster

Book Nooks are located in the following places:

Kiwanis Park – Mechanic and 2nd Street Sweet Thing Bake Shop 100 Third Street The Polk Outdoor Theater Texas Street Pocket Park Historic Courthouse Third Street Farmer’s Market Tony McDonald Art Studio 4th Street Oak Pointe Aesthetics Museum of West Louisiana MLK Neighborhood Center Magnolia Park at West Elementary Jubilee Park Myrtle Park – Lee Hills Liberty Park – Texas Highway Anacoco Waling Trail – Anacoco, LA Slagle Senior Center – Slagle LA Pitkin Park – Pitkin LA Evans School – Evans LA Leesville Country Club Park

The Book Nooks were funded in part by Michelle Mitchell in honor of her late husband, Judge Jim Mitchell, who was an avid reader.  Each Book Nook carries a plate that reads:  In Memory of Judge James “Jim” Mitchell.”

Additional funding for the project was provided by:

Art 4 the Parks GALLERY ONE EIIIEVEN The Vernon Arts Council The Rapides Foundation The Vernon Parish Tourism Commission

Wreaths Across America | Central Louisiana Veterans Cemetery

Project Vernon Parish | Festivals & Events | Cemeteries

Wreaths Across America is an annual event that takes place across America every December and endeavors to teach the “importance of remembering our fallen heroes, honoring those who serve, and teaching our children about the sacrifices made by veterans and their families to preserve our freedoms.”   Wreaths are laid by families and volunteers on graves at Veterans Cemeteries across the nation (and beyond).

In Vernon Parish, this event took place at the Central Louisiana Veterans Cemetery, located at 3348 University Parkway, on December 12, 2015.  After a brief ceremony and moment of silence, families and local volunteers laid wreaths on all the graves in the cemetery.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Project Vernon Parish | Festivals & Events

MayFest is an annual music festival hosted by the Vernon Parish Tourism Commission in Historic Downtown Leesville.  The festival was awarded the Louey Award for 2012 Festival of the Year by the Louisiana Travel Promotion Association.

Past performers at MayFest include many local, regional, and national favorites, including:  The Kentucky Headhunters, Frank Foster, Mia Borders, Old Man Band, Marcus Davis, Louisiana Sidemen, Mulligan Brothers, and many more.

In addition to wonderful music, MayFest boasts a large number of arts and crafts vendors, the Leesville Rotary Club Chalk-a-Block, and the Leesville Lions Club Pancake Breakfast and Crawfish Boil.  On Saturday morning, the AUSA Armadillo Stampede kicks off at 8 a.m.

The 39th Annual MayFest took place in Historic Downtown Leesville on May 2 -3 , 2014

The 40th Annual MayFest took place in Historic Downtown Leesville on May 1-2 , 2015


West Louisiana Forestry Festival

Project Vernon Parish | Festivals & Events

The 108th Annual West Louisiana Forestry Festival took place on October 1-5, 2014 at the West Louisiana Forestry Festival Fairgrounds.

The fair and carnival open on the 1st Wednesday of October and kick off with the Annual Senior Citizens Day hosted by the Vernon Parish Sheriff’s Office and the Vernon Council on Aging.  Area seniors are invited to attend this free event that includes lunch on the grounds.

Fair week unofficially begins the Saturday before with the West Louisiana Forestry Festival Queens Pageant, which is a scholarship pageant open to seniors from the parish schools.  On the Monday before is the Junior King and Queen Pageant that is open to 1st graders from area schools. Contestants for both pageants are chosen by area schools.

The Forestry Festival boasts carnival rides from The Mighty Thomas Carnival and Horse, Livestock and Pet Shows (hosted by the local 4-H department).  Held in conjunction with the Forestry Festival, is the Leesville Lions Club Rodeo which benefits the Louisiana Lions Camp. A highlight of the Forestry Festival is the food from local service organizations that use the Forestry Festival as a fundraiser to help support their organizations.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.