Category Archives: National Register Prop…

Fullerton Lake Recreation Complex | Project Vernon Parish

National Register Properties | Outdoor Recreation | Places of Interest |Trails & Byways

Fullerton Lake Recreation Complex is the site of the former Fullerton Sawmill and Town.  Established in the early 1900’s, Fullerton was the largest pine sawmill west of the Mississippi River and was home to approximately 5,000 people.

Today, the complex is operated by the US Forest Service and is part of the Vernon Unit of the Calcasieu Ranger District.  One of the most popular, recreation areas in the Vernon Unit, the site boasts on-site camping, recreation trails, full service rest-room facilities, a large pavilion, and, of course, lots of fishing.

Fullerton Lake Recreation Complex is also home to the annual Fullerton Sawmill Day festival.  Held annually, the festival, includes historic displays, music, food, and lots of fun.

Additional Information:

More information on Fullerton Recreation Complex is available from the US Forest Service

More information on the Myths & Legends Scenic Byway is available from the Vernon Parish Tourism Commission website

Louisiana Byways Website

Kisatchie National Forest, Calcasieu Ranger District, Vernon Unit

Location Map:

Talbert-Pierson Cemetery

Project Vernon Parish

National Register Properties | Places of Interest | Cemeteries | Trails & Byways

Talbert-Pierson Cemetery located in the Cravens Community is a historic cemetery with grave houses (also know as grave shelters) as is part of the Myths & Legends Byway in Vernon Parish. The cemetery was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003.

The historic marker at the cemetery reads:

TALBERT-PIERSON CEMETERY

1889

Established by members of the Talbert and Pierson families, pioneers who first settled in the area in the 1860’s. Thirteen graves are covered with unique grave houses. The origins of grave houses are uncertain – some tracing the beginnings to European or Native American roots. Other sources simply attribute the custom to a form of protecting the graves before cemeteries were commonly fenced. Grave houses were a part of the Upland South tradition; the custom also included decorating the graves with shells. Tradition demanded that the grave house was to be built before sunset on the day of burial. Talbert-Pierson Cemetery was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003. Adjacent tot he cemetery is Pine Grove Methodist Church established on April 10, 1887 as part of the Sugartown circuit. The first church was located approximately one mile from the present church, which was built in 1921.
– Erected by the Vernon Parish Tourism Commission and the Vernon Parish Police Jury, 2003.

Additional Information:

Talbert-Pierson Cemetery on Find A Grave

More information on the Myths & Legends Scenic Byway is available from the Vernon Parish Tourism Commission website

Louisiana Byways website

Talbert/Pierson Grave Shelters 1889-1949 on Cemeteries of Texas

Location Map:

Holly Grove Methodist Church & Cemetery

Project Vernon Parish | National Register Properties | Cemeteries

Holly Grove Methodist Church and cemetery are located in Anacoco, Louisiana.  The historic Holly Grove Methodist Church was founded in 1835 and was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.  There is a marker on the historic church that says that it is a also a Methodist Historic Site.  Services are no longer held in the historic church but take place across the street at the current Holly Grove United Methodist Church.

A nearby historic marker reads:

First church services 1826
Served by Circuit Riders
Founded in 1835 as
Methodist Protestant Church
Never without a pastor or
church superintendent
Still on original location.

Benson H. Lyons House

Project Vernon Parish | National Register Properties

This home was built c. 1900 by Dr. E. E. Smart, the founder of Leesville, for his daughter Lula. Located in the Leesville Historic District immediately behind the Historic 1910 Courthouse, it is an impressive example of the Queen Anne Revival style.  The home is privately owned and not open to the public.

The building was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004.

1-DSC_9772