Project Vernon Parish
National Register Properties | Places of Interest | Cemeteries | Trails & Byways
Talbert-Pierson Cemetery located in the Cravens Community is a historic cemetery with grave houses (also know as grave shelters) as is part of the Myths & Legends Byway in Vernon Parish. The cemetery was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003.
The historic marker at the cemetery reads:
Established by members of the Talbert and Pierson families, pioneers who first settled in the area in the 1860’s. Thirteen graves are covered with unique grave houses. The origins of grave houses are uncertain – some tracing the beginnings to European or Native American roots. Other sources simply attribute the custom to a form of protecting the graves before cemeteries were commonly fenced. Grave houses were a part of the Upland South tradition; the custom also included decorating the graves with shells. Tradition demanded that the grave house was to be built before sunset on the day of burial. Talbert-Pierson Cemetery was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003. Adjacent tot he cemetery is Pine Grove Methodist Church established on April 10, 1887 as part of the Sugartown circuit. The first church was located approximately one mile from the present church, which was built in 1921.
– Erected by the Vernon Parish Tourism Commission and the Vernon Parish Police Jury, 2003.